HTG’s Year In Review: 2014


News Banner 10-16-14

It’s 2015 and people are making grand plans for the upcoming year, but before I share any goals, I’d like to take a look back at History Through Gaming’s 2014.

On July 7, I posted “Getting the (St.) Lo-down on the King Tiger,” my first post in more than two years (and a headline that I’m still far too proud of), and made a commitment to keep the blog up and running. I ended up publishing 28 posts (including blog updates) over the rest of the year, passing the 50-post milestone with “The 20 mm FlaK and the Flakvierling” on Dec. 1.

I’m still amazed I got more than 50 posts out of Medal of Honor: Allied Assault, and now that I’m nearly finished with the game, I’m looking forward to diving into the next game. If all goes as planned, I should hit 100 posts sometime next year.

The two-year hiatus really hurt my readership (I’m sorry, readers 😦 ), as I received only 7,451 views this year, a huge drop from 2012 when I last posted. According to WordPress‘s 2014 annual report for this blog, that’s about six New York City subway trains. I remain skeptical. I live in New York, and I’m pretty certain that I’ve seen that many people cram into one car alone.

Unsurprisingly, HTG’s most-viewed day was June 6, the 70th anniversary of D-Day, when my post on Wiederstandsnest 72, the German strongpoint on Omaha Beach, received the majority of the day’s views.

A photo of the landscape surrounding German resistance nest (Wiederstandsnest) 72 as it appears today, with key positions labeled. This photo was taken from a helicopter by John Flaherty of Hand Maid Tours in Normandy.

A photo of the landscape surrounding WN 72 today, with key positions labeled. This photo was taken from a helicopter by John Flaherty of Hand Maid Tours in Normandy and was the most-viewed piece of HTG media in 2014, as it accompanied the Wiederstandsnest 72 post.

This post, authored in June 2011, remains one of my favorites, and it was the most-viewed post of the year, followed closely by a similar post on the Omaha Beach obstacles. The best-performing new post of the year was “The Panzer IV Tank: Germany’s Workhorse.

Most of my readers hailed from the United States, with FranceGermany, the U.K., and Canada distantly rounding out the top five.

Even though most search engines have begun encrypting search terms, I’m still able to see a few things that led people to HTG – the FlaK 88 and the MG42 were two of the most-searched-for items.

Of course, there were some interesting ones. My two favorites were “the tank museum and what you can play on with riyall guns,” and “bear grells killed by rebbit pic.” I’m not sure why the latter person wants to see a photo of Bear Grylls being killed by a rabbit, but I’m not going to ask any questions.

I’ll close out this post with a few goals for 2015. I’d like to post more videos. I haven’t quite figured out how I want to do this, but before the end of the year, I’ll hopefully be posting some in my posts (and I’ll add videos to supplement old posts, too). I’m also going to amp up my social media posting. My Twitter reach isn’t bad, but my Facebook audience is abysmal (in terms of quantity – I couldn’t ask for better quality!). I’d also like to figure out a way to post on Wednesdays – a goal I could complete as early as next week.

Last year saw this blog resurrected, and I think it’s really going to thrive in 2015!

~ by John on January 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
